LEGAL NOTICE NOTICE OF ELECTION – CITY OF EL PASO

RESOLUTION CALLING FOR A RUNOFF ELECTION ON JUNE 11, 2011 FROM THE 2011 GENERAL ELECTION IN THE CITY OF EL PASO FOR THE ELECTION OF OFFICERS.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

1. On Saturday, June 11, 2011, a runoff election will be held by the City of El Paso, at

El Paso, Texas, for the purpose of electing the following named officers of the City of El Paso:

District Representative No. 1 District Representative No. 5

2. The election shall be held at the polling places designated in Exhibit "A" attached hereto and made a part hereof for all purposes, and said polling places shall open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 7 p.m. on the day of the election.

3. The City Clerk of the City of El Paso shall be the Clerk for early voting for said election and the County Elections Administrator, Mr. Javier Chacon, is appointed as the Deputy Clerk for early voting. His address is:

Mr. Javier Chacon Deputy Early Voting Clerk 500 E. San Antonio, Room L115 El Paso, Texas 79901

The County Courthouse is hereby designated as the early voting station for such election. In addition, the following branch offices for early voting on the days determined by the County Elections Department by personal appearance shall be authorized for such election, and/or any locations that might be added or changed by the County Elections Department, and hours for early voting by personal appearance shall be authorized for such election:

(Early voting shall be held weekdays from Tuesday, May 31, 2011 through Tuesday, June 7, 2011. There is NO voting on Saturday, June 2, 2011 and Sunday, June 3, 2011. The hours for early voting at each early voting location are as noted below.)

Location:

Hours of voting:

a) Courthouse 500 E. San Antonio Ave	weekdays 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, with expanded hours Monday, June 6, 2011 and Tuesday, June 7, 2011 –	
	7:00 am - 7:00 pm	
b) Fiesta Shopping Center # A104	weekdays 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours	
5200 N. Mesa St.	Monday, June 6, 2011 and Tuesday, June 7, 2011 –	
	7:00 am - 7:00 pm	
c) Regency of El Paso	weekdays 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours	
221 Bartlett Dr.	Monday, June 6, 2011 and Tuesday, June 7, 2011 –	
	7:00 am - 7:00 pm	
d) Vista Hills Shopping Center #501	weekdays 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours	
1840 Lee Trevino Dr.	Monday, June 6, 2011 and Tuesday, June 7, 2011 –	
	7:00 am - 7:00 pm	
e) Zaraplex Center #140	weekdays 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours	
1700 Zaragoza Rd.	Monday, June 6, 2011 and Tuesday, June 7, 2011 –	
	7:00 am - 7:00 pm	

In addition, the City Clerk is authorized to make and corrections or revisions regarding the early voting locations, and the dates and times for such voting, as recommended by the El Paso County Elections Administrator.

4. The special canvassing board and election officials appointed for the May 14, 2011 general election shall be reappointed for the runoff election and the Mayor is authorized to approve of any necessary personnel changes upon receipt of notice from the County Elections Administrator.

5. Voting of the Election, and early voting therefore, shall be by the use of lawfully approved voting systems and ballots.

6. Such election shall be held in the manner and form prescribed by the laws of the State of Texas. The qualified voters who reside in the City of El Paso who reside in Representative District No. 1 and No. 5 shall vote for the Representative in their respective district.

7. By approving and signing this resolution, the Mayor officially confirms as his action all matters recited herein which by law come within his jurisdiction.

8. A substantial copy hereof shall serve as notice of said election.

- 9. The City Clerk shall give notice of such election by posting a copy of such notice in English and Spanish in the Office of the City Clerk and by publishing a copy of said notice in both English and Spanish in a newspaper of the City as required by law.
- 10. The City Clerk shall deliver notice of this election to the county clerk and voter registrar of El Paso County, as required by law.

APPROVED this 19th day of May 2011. CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS /s/ John F. Cook, Mayor ATTEST: /s/ Richarda Duffy Momsen, City Clerk APPROVED AS TO FORM: /s/ Elaine S. Hengen, Senior Assistant City Attorney

<u>EXHIBIT A</u> <u>SPECIAL ELECTION PRECINCTS AND POLLING PLACES</u> Run-off election, June 11, 2011

PCT # POLLING PLACE

ADDRESS

5	Fire Station # 2	111 E. Borderland Rd.
6	Tennis West	One Tennis West Ln.
7	Lincoln Middle School	500 Mulberry Ave.
10	Roberts Elementary School	341 Thorn Ave.
11 & 170	Olga Kohlberg Elementary School	1445 Nardo Goodman Dr.
12	Franklin 9th Grade Center	825 E. Redd Rd.
13	Fire Station # 27	6767 Ojo De Agua Dr.
14	Rosa Guerrero Elementary School	7530 Lakehurst Rd.
15	Franklin High School	900 N. Resler Dr.
16	Monte Vista Retirement Center	1575 Belvidere St.
18	Polk Elementary School	940 Belvidere St.
19	Peace Lutheran Church	5890 Via Cuesta Dr.
20	Fire Station # 22	6500 N. Mesa St.
21	Carlos Rivera Elementary School	6445 Escondido Dr.
22	Western Hills U.M.CFellowship Hall #A	524 Thunderbird Dr.
23	Dr. Green Elementary School	5430 Buckley Dr.
30 & 31	Mesita Elementary School	3307 N. Stanton St.
33	El Paso Tennis Club	2510 N. St. Vrain St.
93	Gary Del Palacio Recreational Center	3001 Parkwood Dr.
94	Eastpoint Elementary School	2400 Zanzibar St.
97 & 98	Pebble Hills Elementary School	11145 Edgemere Blvd.
99	Eastside Senior Center	3200 Fierro Dr.
100	YWCA - East	10712 Sam Snead Dr.
103	Indian Ridge Middle School	11201 Pebble Hills Blvd.
104	Glen Cove Elementary School	10955 Sam Snead Dr.
105	Hanks High School	2001 Lee Trevino Dr.
109	Jane Hambric Elementary School	3535 Nolan Richardson Dr.
110	Bill Sybert School	11530 Edgemere Blvd.
111 & 171	Spec. Rafael Hernando III Middle School	3451 Rich Beem Blvd.
112 &113	Benito Martinez Elementary School	2640 Robert Wynn Dr.
114	Helen Ball Elementary School	1950 Firehouse Dr.
146-2	Red Sands Elementary School	4250 O'Shea Rd.